CyberTech Rambler

September 14, 2007

Windows Update should NOT update itself, or the update list if I choose “NOT to update at all”. Period

Filed under: Uncategorized — ctrambler @ 3:52 pm

Nate Clinton of Microsoft responded to accusation that Windows Update “updates itself” even if you choose not to update. He asked for comments, and he shall have mine.

My position is if I choose to disableWindows Update completely, then I means hands-off my windows installation. This means NO communication with the Windows Update server whatsoever, no modification on my windows installation, i.e., no self-update and no update list updates either.

All these other thing that Clinton choose to justify Window Update self-update are related, but irrelevant. Clinton is talking about managing Window Update  if you elected to choose to use it. I will say that if I choose to be notified but not automatic installation, I do NOT want Windows Update to update itself. Find another strategy to manage Windows Update without self-update.

Bottom line: You ask me whether I want to “disable”, I said yes. With this, I elected not to even want to know whether an update is available.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

